Skip to main content


Showing posts from December, 2015

University of the Witwatersrand Fees for 2015

Fees for 2015 (South African students) Faculty of Commerce,Law & Management  Download the complete2015 Fees book Enquiries about Fees: Please call
27 (11) 717 1533 / 34 / 35 / 36 / 37 / 38 / 46 or 27 (11) 717 4906 / 11 / / 12 / 13 / 15 Fax:27 (11) 717 4918 Undergraduate - Average tuition fee for the first year of study BAccSc R 41 400.00BComR 42 010.00 - R 43 320.00BEconR 47 220.00LLB R 32 470.00Faculty of Science  Undergraduate Average tuition fee for the first year of study BSc R 41 080.00 Faculty of Health Sciences BDS    R 57 250.00MBChBR 58 140.00BNursR 38 940.00PharmR 48 700.00BHSc           R 58 580.00BSc (OT)R 43 410.00BSc (Physiotherapy)R 42 670.00BCMPR 43 470.00BOHScR 36 850.00Faculty of Engineering& Built Environment   <

University of the Witwatersrand

The University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, is a multi-campus South African public research university situated in the northern areas of central Johannesburg. It is more commonly known as Wits University. The university has its roots in the mining industry, as do Johannesburg and the Witwatersrand in general. Founded in 1896 as the South African School of Mines in Kimberley, it is the third oldest South African university in continuous operation, after the University of Cape Town (founded in 1829), and Stellenbosch University (founded in 1866).

In 1959, the Extension of University Education Act forced restricted registrations of black students for most of the apartheid era; despite this, several notable black leaders graduated from the university. It was desegregated once again prior to the abolition of apartheid in 1990. Several of apartheid's most provocative critics, of either European or African descent, were one-time students and graduates of the university.

The unive…

List of universities in South Africa

List of universities in South Africa Location of South Africa This is a list of universities in South Africa. For the purposes of this list, colleges and universities are defined as accredited, degree-granting, post-secondary institutions. In 2004 South Africa started reforming its higher education system, merging and incorporating small universities into larger institutions, and renaming all higher education institutions "university" (previously there had been several types of higher education institution). The country's universities and "technikons" which were incorporated with others and thus no longer exist are listed at the end of the article.

Sponsor 2